Anime in Summer 2016

Amaama to Inazuma
Light of my life. Cute and fun, it’s the thing I look forward to all week. Cute kids being cute. Makes me want to stop being a lazy fuck and actually cook. It’s adorable. Director Iwasaki Tarou also directed Isshuukan Friends, but Amaama is vastly superior in my humble opinion. A great show.

Kono Bijutsubu ni wa Mondai ga Aru!
Really cute romance anime about a guy who only wants 2D and a girl who wants the D. So really realistic, but still. Fun and cute. By Studio feel. who also did Galko and Dagashi Kashi, so their track record is pretty good so far.

Fukigen na Mononokean
Really like it. A lighter, funner and faster moving Natsume’s Book of Friends. An actual okay use of 3D. I think it’s one of the more underrated series this season.

Cheer Danshi!!
It’s fine. A Free rip off I guess (I like it more than Free to be honest), but just fine. A female director is cool, Yoshimura Ai also directed Ao Haru Ride and Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru and was an assisant on Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou, so she has good training and an okay track record so far. It’s pretty okay. Cute boys doing cheerleading.

Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu
I love short episodes. This is a pretty cute one, especially recommended for fujoshis. The director’s first work, from studio EMT2, which also worked on Kuma Miko. It’s pretty fun.

Puzzle & Dragons Cross
I’m like 5 episodes behind which I think says something about it. It’s okay.

Mob Psycho 100
Beautiful as all hell. One of the most interestingly animated shows of the last few seasons I think. Really beautiful. Story is okay. It’s great and I get why everyone’s creaming their pants over it, but it’s not what I look forward to the most every week.

Tales of Zestiria the X
Ufotable. So it’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

