Welcome to the Gross Weeaboo Anime Awards for 2016, only correct opinions are below the cut.

anime-of-the-year

Let’s start with the most important first of all. This anime had a beautiful aesthetic and hilarious atmosphere. Oshiete! Galko-chan could win most of the categories, Best Comedy, Best Girl, Most Stylish, but let’s keep it to ‘Anime of the Year’. We desperately need more of this sort of work. Shorts have become everything to me this past year, the most fun I’ve had watching anime. From Luluco, Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu, Mahou Shoujo Nante and Getsuyoubi no Tawawa, Oshiete! Galko-chan stood out as the most fun, the most beautiful and the most unique.

opening-of-the-year

Forgive me anime, for I have sinned, I skip opening a LOT of the time. I watch them, but well, if they are boring I’ll just skip ahead. But never for My Hero Academia. This opening was fantastic. I liked My Hero Academia over all, it had some of the most emotional and heart retching scenes of the year (which is somehow lacking from Crunchyroll’s best of list but OH WELL). The opening was amazing and perfect for the superhero themes of it.

shock-of-the-year

I heard ‘less than stellar’ things about Mahoutsukai Precure! but… it was nice? A decent show with fun characters and a really surprisingly beautiful aesthetic to it. I’m not a big Precure buff (I’ve seen Heartcatch and that’s it, planning on watching Go! Princess Precure next) but I don’t see the hatred. It’s fiiiiiine.

second-season

No one else cares about Kyoukai no Rinne 2nd Season so I will care about it AGGRESSIVELY. IT WAS GREAT.

harem-of-the-year

This was meant to be ‘best romance’ but… well… it’s a harem. I’m a simple person with simple needs, and Magic-Kyun! Renaissance fulfills them. It edges out Netoge and Kiss Him Not Me on pure style and direction alone (directed by Yamazaki Mitsue, also director of Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun, it makes sense). Really beautiful style, loveable if a little bland characters (I fell in love with the heroine and her tomboy BFF the most to be honest), it was beautiful. Perhaps this should be ‘most beautiful show of the year’ but oh well.

titties-of-the-year

This may be sacrilege when places above such gems as Keijo!!!!!!!! and the above Galko-chan, but god damn, Getsuyoubi no Tawawa (aka Tawawa on Monday) had some great tits.

Extra awards:

Most Overrated of the Year goes to… Yuri on Ice!

Most Underrated of the Year goes to… both Galko-chan and Flying Witch!

 

And the most important award of the year is…

best-girl-of-the-year

ALL YEARS, EVERY YEAR MAI WAIFU WILL REIGN SUPREME.

Leave a Reply

