When I watch anime while it airs, I have three months to think about them, to watch to see what articles and analysis comes out for it, but when I watch an older anime, and finish it what, two weeks, my thoughts on a show don’t sink in as much. So I decided that when I finish around three shows, I’ll write a blogpost on my thoughts on it. If you have any articles or information on any of these shows, I would love to read it so please comment with it! Finding information and analysis of older shows is… harder. This isn’t an ‘article’ or ‘review’, just a blogpost. 

ss2016-11-16at12-41-34

Ace wo Nerae

ace7I haven’t seen many anime from the 70’s. In fact, the only ones I can think of from the top of my head is the Anne of Green Gables anime and Rose of Versailles, both from 1979, both which seem more 80’s.

Aim for the Ace is the first I’ve seen with a distinctly 70’s shoujo look. It seemed solely individual until I started looking at art for other shoujo of the time, like Mahou no Mako-chan and Miracle Shoujo Limit-chan. In fact, it seems to be that style mixed with the… sparkly romantic shoujo of Rose of Versailles.

I watched another tennis anime, from a much more recent season, Baby Steps from 2014, Ace wo Nerae definitely focuses more on the feelings like most shoujo than technical like ace5Baby Steps. Perhaps it’s not just a shoujo thing, and the same with other ‘masculine’ shonen sports anime like Hajime no Ippo but I’ve never seen it. Hmm.

There seems to be a great more nostalgia for that 80’s type of aesthetic, but I felt myself incredibly drawn to this 70’s style.

Legend of Basarabasara

Aired in 1998, lasting only 13 episode and this is a show that is definitely a glorified ad for the manga. An utterly beautiful stylish ad for the manga, but still an ad. It barely gives you the set up to the show, and never pays off any of it. Barely any conflicts are concluded. It’s a fun and visually appealing ride, but short on pay off.

78981bc14124ef0fac1802aa04314c1eShin Shirayuki-hime Densetsu Prétear

In direct comparison to the above, Pretear is complete from start to finish within it’s 13 episodes. And it’s a feat, never feeling rushed or out of nowhere plot points, giving you enough time with character to know and care about their respected arcs.

Story-wise, it’s advertised as a ‘magical girl Snow White’ and, eh. It’s a good story, but the Snow White connection is slim. Interestingly, it has a step mother and a biological father who are very, very in love, which is interesting for a step mother from fairy tale.

Admittedly, there are a few characters who feel… supplementary, but the character on which the plot hinges, on whom’s motivations the plot moves forward and emotional attachment of the audience relies on, it never falters.

Leave a Reply

